Records that sound better on the wrong speed (1 Viewer)

mackle

Was just listening to Bullet Union 7" there accidentally on the wrong speed and it sounded fuckin amazing. Got me thinking, is there any other records that sound better on the wrong speed?

Some old Active Minds lp - the one with what looked like a dead cow on a trolley on the cover - we just couldn't figure out what speed it was meant to be played at at all...

pete said:
Some old Active Minds lp - the one with what looked like a dead cow on a trolley on the cover - we just couldn't figure out what speed it was meant to be played at at all...

That's the first lp,great band, I really should get more of the records.

does anyone know is "souvenir" by orchestral manoeuvres in the dark an uptempo thing or a really slow thing? ive been listening on 45rpm for many years but a friend recently listened and said it was way too fast and should be listened to at 33. it doesnt say on the single itself but its unlistenable to me at 33.

Miss Piggy said:
does anyone know is "souvenir" by orchestral manoeuvres in the dark an uptempo thing or a really slow thing? ive been listening on 45rpm for many years but a friend recently listened and said it was way too fast and should be listened to at 33. it doesnt say on the single itself but its unlistenable to me at 33.

I'm playing my 7" of Souvenir now.

At 45 rpm.

It sounds appalling at 33rpm.

My favourite OMD album is Dazzle Ships. I am on my third dopy of the LP having worn out the previous two. The CD wasn't included in their remastering project.

A lot of stuff I put together on the computer. Eventually when I got used to listening to it, I'd put it up by about 18 bpm, and there you are, fresh as a daisy! :D

When we had a record player in the gaff, (I was very young), I'd play everything at 45rpm. I was a giddy child.