anyone else working on christmas day? (1 Viewer)

A5902.jpg

I'm working an overnight on my birthday and an overnight on christmas eve, finish at ten on christmas morning. It's kind of depressing. Not as depressing as it is for my clients* I'm sure.

*once again, to reiterate, I'm not a prostitute, I work with people in crappy life-situations.

is that air traffic control??

Its the Old Terminal Building at Dublin Airport, sadly its mainly full of offices now though the lower section is used as part of Pier A. The tower cab on top is the old tower, no longer used (but maintained for contingency purposes). We're over beside the fire station now.

i hope arsenal dont draw shelbourne in the champions league next season

Goons have to qualify first...Shels are there as of right.

Its the Old Terminal Building at Dublin Airport, sadly its mainly full of offices now though the lower section is used as part of Pier A. The tower cab on top is the old tower, no longer used (but maintained for contingency purposes). We're over beside the fire station now.

you work in air traffic control?deadly.

you work in air traffic control?deadly.

anyone old enough to remember this?

http://www.super70s.com/Super70s/Tech/Aviation/Disasters/77-03-27(Tenerife).asp said:
ATC: "OK. Standby for takeoff. I will call you."
Pan Am: "We are still taxiing down the runway!"

Tragically, the KLM only heard the "OK" but never heard the rest of what the ATC said nor the Pan Am's subsequent message (as confirmed by the CVR tape) as the Pan Am and ATC were speaking at the same time.
The wheels were literally in motion for this accident to occur and the missed message was the last chance to avoid it. With Captain Van Zanten and First Officer Meurs busy 20 seconds into takeoff, only KLM Flight Officer Willem Schreuder listened to the rest of the exchange:

ATC: "Roger. Pan Am 1736, report the runway clear."
Pan Am: "OK. Will report when we are clear."
ATC: "Thank you."