Party photos (1 Viewer)

F. Fred Palakon

I am a pretty crap photographer with occasional access to a digital SLR (a Canon 350D). I would like to use this digital SLR to take photos of my friends and drinking buddies on evenings out. I would like these photos to be crisp, clear, and saturated.

Examples of the type of thing I'm going for is like whatever you'd see on cobrasnake or lastnightsparty or whatever. A great example on Flickr is this chap: http://www.flickr.com/photos/scottloudoun/

Despite trying to copy yer man's settings (thanks Flickr!) what I end up with is photos that are too dark, or have washed out flash faces.

Assuming I'm using the automatic flash, how far should the camera be from the subject ideally? Does the Canon 350D have different types of flash and if so which one should I be using? (I don't understand the manual)

I'm guessing the guy above has an external flash, no? Is it impossible to take this type of photo without becoming Annoying Flash Guy?

I am a pretty crap photographer with occasional access to a digital SLR (a Canon 350D). I would like to use this digital SLR to take photos of my friends and drinking buddies on evenings out. I would like these photos to be crisp, clear, and saturated.

Examples of the type of thing I'm going for is like whatever you'd see on cobrasnake or lastnightsparty or whatever. A great example on Flickr is this chap: http://www.flickr.com/photos/scottloudoun/

Despite trying to copy yer man's settings (thanks Flickr!) what I end up with is photos that are too dark, or have washed out flash faces.

Assuming I'm using the automatic flash, how far should the camera be from the subject ideally? Does the Canon 350D have different types of flash and if so which one should I be using? (I don't understand the manual)

I'm guessing the guy above has an external flash, no? Is it impossible to take this type of photo without becoming Annoying Flash Guy?