eircom webspace help! (1 Viewer)

george mcfly

My Name Is Prince.
anyone have any experience with assigning a domain name to eircom free webspace??

trying to set it up at the mo and its giving me a few problems..

can anyone help out??

Yep. I wouldn't say I'm an expert but I've done it.

First, you register your domain name; I presume you've already done this, but if you're not sure that it was done correctly, check it at http://www.domainwhitepages.com.

Then you need to set up something called Web forwarding. This tells domain name servers on the Internet that all traffic going to your chosen domain name should be forwarded to the Eircom URL.

The registrar with whom you registered the domain name should be able to provide a Web forwarding (and e-mail forwarding) service. The only difficulty with it is that it can take 48 hours (and possibly more) for domain name servers around the world to pick up the new information. Most changes to domain information take this long to take effect.

Whatever the problem is, it's probably not at Eircom's end (unlike many things). I have a site hosted by Eircom - I just checked it and it's working fine. So I guess their servers are up right now.

Message me directly about this if you like.

I've always found their FTP/ webbuilder really unreliable.

The web-builder never works for me and their support team gave me a URL that is supposed to give direct access to the site, but this rarely works. I've had to re-host on geocities and put up with their crappy adverts.

Is anyone else having similar problems?

Anne O'Malley (11 Oct, 2001 10:48 a.m.):

First, you register your domain name; I presume you've already done this, but if you're not sure that it was done correctly, check it at http://www.domainwhitepages.com.

Then you need to set up something called Web forwarding. This tells domain name servers on the Internet that all traffic going to your chosen domain name should be forwarded to the Eircom URL.