Backup drive listed as unallocated BIG TROUBLE PLEASE HELP (1 Viewer)

D0njo

Website
Visit site
So my brother was using my computer to reformat a hard drive and install xbox stuff,
I don't know how but it seems that a backup drive I have got mixed up in his shenanigans and it's been fiddled with.
This contains some stuff that's fairly important to me, mostly music files that I've been working on for the past three years,
it doesn't exist anywhere else because I just put it there recently so I could reinstall my os.... yeah, I know.

It's a Seagate 160g connected by USB, the jumper pins are set to Master.
In disk management it's listed as Disk 1 (the primary disk is 0), it is Unknown, Not Initialized and Unallocated.
Could it be a partition problem? Not sure how to test if everything is still there, I'd like to try that first....
Any help would be appreciated :)
As long as it doesn't make it worse. I'm a bit nervous here.

Did you try it with another computer?

I need to back my shit up today bigtime.
Thanks for the reminder Donjoni.

first of all, these guys are pros - http://www.criticaldata.ie/ - can be pricey but i think they still do free evaluations

If you want to go the DIY route, it does sound like it's a partition problem so you should be able to recover most if not all of your files. I've used ZAR, but there are plenty of alternatives.

Testdisk is another one worth a try - http://www.cgsecurity.org/wiki/TestDisk

Whatever you do, the important thing is that you don't write any more data to the drive. Don't be tempted to reformat it or anything like that. If you've another drive then take an image / clone of the dodgy drive before you do anything.

Forgot all about the mozy yoke I signed up for, now thanks to this thread I have an additional place where my project files are backed up.
Thats 5 places, two of which are online.

Too much?

nope