It's the Friday 80s Pop song thread (5 Viewers)

I’ve been listening to Celtic Frost’s Mexican Radio cover for over 30 years and that’s the first time I’ve ever heard the original. I mean I knew it existed, I just never heard it or sought it out. Weird.

To view this content we will need your consent to set third party cookies.
For more detailed information, see our cookies page.

and some FROST fans never even realized it was a cover. you'd think the lyrics are a dead give away.

Woeful drum machine production but still, such a cheerful song about a murderous armed insurrection

SALON MUSIC - Spending Silent Night (1983)
Japanese new wave song used on a Honda car advert there at the time.
a very distorted cover of this by hardcore punk band CONFUSE ('Spending Loud Night') is one the best known (and greatest) Japanese hardcore tunes.

Massive revival of 80s japanese pop music going on right now @nuke terrorist, Pitchfork can't stop themselves writing about it

Recent "Sunday Review*":

*Sunday Review is where they review, like, a 1970s Miles Davis album and give it 9.5 out of ten and we're supposed to be going "wow, so insightful, who'd have thought they'd be so brave"

I vaguely remember this one, good chorus

I was just browsing through this list of the weekly Irish top 30 charts 1985 to 1987

Massive revival of 80s japanese pop music going on right now @nuke terrorist, Pitchfork can't stop themselves writing about it

Recent "Sunday Review*":

*Sunday Review is where they review, like, a 1970s Miles Davis album and give it 9.5 out of ten and we're supposed to be going "wow, so insightful, who'd have thought they'd be so brave"

I only know SALON MUSIC because of the CONFUSE cover.
IMO that was by far their best tune (from their First LP) some of their material from later years sounds more like STEREOLAB or more Lo-Fi maybe ?