Choice Music Prize 2010 Winner – Two Door Cinema Club

Congratulations to Two Door Cinema Club who’ve just been announced as the winners of the 2010 Choice Music Prize for their album Tourist History.

In a rather nice gesture, the band immediately donated their €10,000 prize money to charity. 

Two Door Cinema Club have just been announced as the winner of the Choice Music Prize – Irish Album of the Year 2010 for the album Tourist History (Kitsune). Two Door Cinema Club received a cheque for €10,000 – a prize which has been provided by the Irish Music Rights Organisation (IMRO) and the Irish Recorded Music Association (IRMA) – as well as a specially-commissioned award, courtesy of the Recorded Artists And Performers Ltd (RAAP).

The 11 strong jury panel of Irish music media professionals deliberated at length tonight and chose the album from the shortlist of 10 records released by Irish artists throughout 2010. The sold-out event in Vicar Street, Dublin featured performances by 9 of the 10 shortlisted acts (Imelda May is currently in Australia and was unable to attend). The event was hosted by Today FM’s Alison Curtis and was broadcast live in a special broadcast on Today FM’s Paul McLoone Show.

Congratulations to all shortlisted finalists – it was a particularly strong lineup this year.

Choice Music Prize 2010 Shortlist

Adebisi Shank – This is the Second Album of a band called Adebisi Shank
The Cast Of Cheers – Chariot
Cathy Davey – The Nameless
Fight Like Apes – The Body of Christ & The Legs of Tina Turner
Halves – It Goes, It Goes (Forever & Ever)
Imelda May – Mayhem
James Vincent McMorrow – Early in The Morning
O Emperor – Hither Thither
Two Door Cinema Club – Tourist History
Villagers – Becoming A Jackal

user_login; ?>