cubaso problemo (1 Viewer)

nine

i am new to cubase and am using cubase 5.
when i import a .wav,or any other valid file into the program,i can't hear it when i play it back.
the level in the "A" column responds to the sound,but nothing comes out.
i also am not able to hear midi through cubase,on the pro-52 for example.again,there is input and out put flashing,but no sound.
i don't think it's the soundcard though,because i can hear other sounds like the click timer.

does anyone know what's wrong?i know it's a vague question and there are a lot of things it could be,but i tried on the cubase.net forum and nobody could help me.

i'm thinking it's some way i have the ASIO driver set up.....

hey nine,

are you using a cracked version of the software? What operating system are you running it on?

we're currently using a cracked version on Windows ME which seems to work fine except for a few glitches, one of which sounds like what you're experiencing.

basically, sometimes you can't hear anything coming across the monitors/speakers even though the output levels etc look ok.
We found that this usually had to do with another program being open at the same time, even something as basic as windows explorer. We'd close this down, and cubase would behave normally again. Other programs such as sound-card mixer software would also play havoc with cubase's playback, but like I say, close down the other programs and it would work fine again.

It sounds very suspect I know, but see if this has any effect for you.

yeah it's cracked,and i'm using win 98,which is actin the bollix aswell.
i tried what you said but to no avail,i reckon i'll just reinstall it,because i bought a new soundcard and that may be causing the problem.

another question,does anyone know how i can tweak windows 98 to be more stable etc.

it crashes sometimes and i have no idea why,i get the blue screen.

Originally posted by nine