NIGHTSHIFT axed. (1 Viewer)

the departed

whatever you have to say about the quality of the show, it was the only place showing irish videos and they were very accommodating in doing so. and, irish videos aside, they were the only dedicated music video show.

its a real shame. i really enjoyed being able to sit down and watch videos(i dont have the mtv2s or that lark).
maybe not as big a loss as no disco, but as a filmmaker myself, its just fucking hopeless.

fuck you irish broadcasting.
fuck you.

It is with great regret and a pain in my heart that I break the news today that as and from the 31st December 2008, Nightshift is to be taken off air.

Channel 6 was bought over by TV3 a few months ago and the new owners have made the decision to remove Nightshift from next year's schedule.

This means of course that from today I will no longer be taking music videos, interviews, competitions, etc.

The very last show will air from 10pm – 1am on New Years Eve.

I would like to thank you all personally for making the last working 14 months a real treat. It has been a pleasure dealing with all you guys.

On a personal level, may I say that Michelle and I are completely bewildered, and absolutely gutted by this decision. We both care passionately about the show and are finding this very hard to swallow. This year alone we made over 400 shows together and loved every minute of it. We are so sad the show will be no more.

Boo! That sucks. Channel 6 were a bit of a naive set up when they began broadcasting, but thanks to the TV3/Granada takeover they'll now be as soul less and clinical as their counterparts. Can't wait to see the late night quiz show they replace it with.

That sucks! It was the only outlet for Irish bands and filmmakers/animators. Fuck you TV3! What a dreadful channel that is. They're just gonna replace Nightshift with re-runs of soaps or something equally retarded. This country's broadcasters attitude towards youth culture/music is downright destructive!