guitar playing ailment (1 Viewer)

Lord Damian

wasn't sure if this was a lifestyle thing or not, but tough titty.

just recently i've noticed a lump of (??bone?? mineral buildup?? fuck knows) forming on the top of the knuckle that attaches my thumb to the rest of my hand...this is my fretting hand, and as a bass player i imagine my thumb would get a fair workout anyways, let alone the fact that i play about 20 hours a week (and that's a week with no gigs). should i be worried? is there anything that can be done? does anyone know what the hell this is? ever experience it? what's the meaning of life? where do babies come from?

I'm in a kinda similar situation. I have double-jointed thumbs and so my left thumb's joint gets really pressed in against the guitar neck. As a result I've got a bit of a callous around there. "I'm not a doctor" but I imagine its nothing to worry about .

I have this weird thing with my thumb where every once in a while it starts to tremor ever so slightly and move from side to side uncontrollably. Fucking freaked me out for ages!!! Thought I had some kind of neurological disorder or something.

The doc, who was young and fresh in the job, full of energy and enthusiasm, told me that the tendons had atrophied and had become inflamed. She gave me an anti-inflammatory cream and told me to apply it for about 2 months and it eventually went away. Scared the shit out of me though.

Basic wear and tear stuff I guess. A mate of mine had to get some kind of laser surgery on the tendons in his hand due to excessive amounts of guitar playing.

That was his excuse anyway.

huh. Atrophied tendons eh?
I got that, but it was when I was doing a fair bit of rock climbing. My thumb or a bit of my forearm would start freaking out. I also got it in my legs after races or time trials or tough spins.
I always thought it was just muscle going into spasm.

huh. Atrophied tendons eh?