Fri Nov 27th - HYPE at POD // CHRIS DUCKENFIELD [SWAG] (1 Viewer)

Subject

H Y P E at POD
Harcourt Street Dublin 2
Friday Nov 27th - CHRIS DUCKENFIELD
Doors 11pm // Adm: e12

POD:
CHRIS DUCKENFIELD [SWAG - Sheffield]
Mr. Rossworth
Giles Kenny

Chris Duckenfield - A [self penned] introduction...

I'm 37, male, and live in Sheffield in the north of England (once famous for Steel and Electronic Pop). I now play other people's records for a living, and make a few of my own. Once upon a time I studied English, with a view to becoming a teacher. I also studied - at great length - LSD, music and the art of the compilation tape (not necessarily at the same time). Eventually, music and LSD convinced me teaching was for elderly men, with beards, and an unusual passion for corduroy.

Despite being something of a dribbling participant in the biggest youth movement of the late 20th century, I actually must have learnt quite alot whilst staggering around northern Acid House institutions like the Hacienda, Kool Kat, Jive Turkey & Occasions.

So it was with a sense of confusion, a small record collection and even smaller amount of talent that I became a DJ. In 1989 I got my first residency, along with DJ buddy at the time, Richard Benson. I learnt the art of making people dance, and putting records together 'on the job', the crowd were very tolerant and enthusiastic about this (see: extremely high) we also had a successful pirate radio show (as Asterix and Space)

Rave band Altern8 sampled me from the radio show saying 'Watch Your Bass Bins, I'm Tellin' Ya' - I'll never live it down. We rode the wave & played at a few raves for 12 - 15,000 people, for about 50 quid each - strange times.