Live Sound - help needed (1 Viewer)

Cooperman

This is my first time on this forum and it seems to be really good.

Im in a young band with gigs of our own and some supports and wanted to ask people about live sound. We have been told we should get our own soundman but have never had to do this before. Do all bands do this?? I have been to loads of gigs, sometimes the sound is shit and horrible and sometimes brilliant. I think i can tell the difference. It seems that bigger bands like the frames, bellx1, turn (my three fav irish bands) always have brilliant sound and big bands that come from elsewhere too.

If we were to get a soundman how would we go about it? Does anyone know how much they would cost, we dont have much money of course.

Help please

Thanks

CP

There's a rake of students about to graduate our Live sound course in STC, temple bar. Of course they wouldn't quite yet be at the standard of the guys that do turn and Bell x1 but they might be willing to work for free to gain experience. If your a young band then I think this would be ideal. Call STC on 6709033 and leave your info with Lee. She'll pass it on to the live class and we'll see what happens from there!

Okay...
First up, the bands you mentioned sound great mainly because of years of experience. You could stick them in a coal shed with a 250w vocal PA and they'd manage to sound 'professional'.
They all do have their own engineers. Obviously this helps too.

Basically, get used to playing gigs first.
Getting used to making yourselves sound good on stage without monitors can be done when you reherse.
After a load of gigs you'll have met a few house engineers and have some experience of what you need and don't need.

House engineers are your friend - don't piss them off.
Things that piss them off :-