HDTV - what should I be looking for? (1 Viewer)

It Will Never Last

Wanna buy a HDTV jobbie but know absolutely nothing about them.

What's a good brand/model?

What res should I be looking for?

Connections and shit?

I unly want something relatively wee, 28" maybe.

I'm not an expert by any means, but are you looking for one with dvd/tv/gaming in mind...? All three?

All three I suppose.

I'm on Chorus so no HD channels to watch yet, but no harm in being prepared right? Did dib dib.

I'm getting a PS3 in a couple of weeks, that'll get most use I imagine.

Best ask Pete and Lefty about connections then. I think PS3 is HDMI? You might as well look out for a vga or dvi port too, if you wanna connect your pc to it and look at MS Word on a motherfuckin' huge screen.

Look up TVs on the old google that suit your price range and then try and find reviews of em with whatever is most important to you taken into account. My own TV is great for gaming and HD, but looks poor with a terrestrial aerial - but seeing as I very rarely use an aerial, I'm not bothered.

I personally prefer Sony or Samsung, you want it to be 1080p as well...
Also I know you think you want only 28" but bigger is always better and 32" should be your minimum.

Aye, go with a recognised brand, but honestly you should use google to look up the model number. Even the likes of Sony/Samsung/Philips etc have released duds in their time. I found a really nice TV that I was on the verge of buying, but after doing 10 mins research on the net, I found plenty of horror stories surrounding it. It apparently had a "bug" which couldn't be fixed. Not what you want when you're spending close to a grand.

Also another thing, alot of people go for the tvs that have the glass front (Panasonic Viera is one of the glass fronted tvs.) that do make the colours look more vibrant but are fucking lousy when the sun or light is on them, my Sony is a "matt" type front and the sun or light does not impede atall on the TV.