Educate Together schools petition (1 Viewer)

Whereabouts are you Beattre ?

I'm a primary teacher, I work in two ( Catholic ) schools and in both we have non denominational children, as well as Muslims, Jehovah's Witnesses, etc etc, and as far as I know its not made an issue of.

Schools all have an enrollment policy, have you seen a copy of the one you're hoping to get a place in ?

Greystones. There's no planning going on here for more primary schools. I wanted to send my daughter to the local COI school I went to as a kid, which is a 2 minute walk away. They state on their enrolment policy that they give preference to (a) parish children first, COI children from outside the parish next, baptised Catholic children etc... Option (f) reads "Children who are members of faiths, cults, sects or of no denomination".

Since my option (f) isn't baptised she's bottom of the list and didn't get in - despite the fact we can see the school from our front door, both my sister and I attended the school, my mother taught there part time and my family have lived in the area for 35 years.

The next nearest school is 2 miles away. It's not a big deal really, I just have a problem with baptising my child for the sake of appeasing a school board. I know this school is offering places to children who live miles away over children who live on it's doorstep. It reeks of discrimination and I niaively imagined that this sort of thinking was on its way out in this country.

jeez thats harsh..like coraline ive taught in a few catholic schools and they usually have a mix of religions..then the kids just have different activities while the others have religion class.that said i dont think that what is obviously a staunchly catholic school giving priority to catholic kids is that much of a shocker or super reprehensible..

shit, that is fucking ridiculous. i'd get onto joe duffy if i was you. this cuntry sux