dpi/ppi question (1 Viewer)

Umfufu

The wife is writing a paper with photos for work.
It was sent off to the printers by her boss but they sent it back saying the image was only 96 dpi & has to be saved as 300 dpi.

I opened the file on GIMP (which I'm a complete noob at) & scaled the image to 300 ppi.

Is this what they meant or does dpi & ppi have nothing to do with each other?

The wife is writing a paper with photos for work.
It was sent off to the printers by her boss but they sent it back saying the image was only 96 dpi & has to be saved as 300 dpi.

I opened the file on GIMP (which I'm a complete noob at) & scaled the image to 300 ppi.

Is this what they meant or does dpi & ppi have nothing to do with each other?

they are different beasts, is there a drop down to change from ppi? i dont have gimp to look at here at present.

they are different beasts, is there a drop down to change from ppi? i dont have gimp to look at here at present.

Not that I can see but I'm only using Gimp for the first time tonight.
Btw, I'm using a Mac & in the meantime the missus changed the image ppi with Preview aswell so maybe Gimp isn't as necessary as I thought.

Anyway, I opened the tiff file in Gimp, clicked Image->Scale & then saw this

Grabppi.jpg

If I click on the pixels/in menu i get a list with:

pixels/in
pixels/mm
pixels/pt
pixels/pc
pixels/cm
pixels/m
pixels/ft
pixels/yd
pixels/tpt
pixels/tpc

i had a hoak around gimp on my old computer there, i cant see a way to do it. its all very easy in photoshop so far as i remember. are there many images? there are a few online convertors out there probably, or if there aren't many i'll do them in photoshop here.

The image is actually 4 photos in a box.
Not sure if you count that as 1 image or 4?

Ok, it's just one image. It was originally made up of 4 separate photos that we may be able to root out individually if it helps but the image is saved as a tiff & also have the powerpoint file that it's saved in.