Digital Camera Advice (1 Viewer)

Rose

Hi,
Im an art student looking for some advice on buying a new digital camera. I've got a budget of about €400 and need a decent quality camera that has a high optical zoom(x10aprox) for getting close to subjects. Ideally I would buy a digital SLR but they're really expensive so Ive been looking at a few cameras like the Fuji Finepix S5600 and the canon PowerShot S3 IS.
Any advice on this would be great,
Thanks!

I don't know much outside SLR's, but i do know you can get a Canon DSLR on ebay for around e350. I could be wrong, but you could probably get a good zoom for one (old non digital that would work with the camera body) for around 80-100. If the reason you want the optical zoom is to get in close to details on your pictures (as opposed to taking pictures from some distance away from the canvas) you want a macro lens, or some macro filters, which are very cheap but a little harder to use.

Thanks, I have a pretty good canon SLR at the moment but want to get a reliable digital camera now as well, just for good documentation but my last one wasnt great so I want to get a decent one now while I have some cash. Generally is Fuji considered reliable? I always thought they were alright but Ive read a few bad things about them recently. Also I seen a Kodak easyshare Z74O that I could afford but am dubious of Kodak.
Anyway,

Rose said:
Thanks, I have a pretty good canon SLR at the moment but want to get a reliable digital camera now as well, just for good documentation but my last one wasnt great so I want to get a decent one now while I have some cash. Generally is Fuji considered reliable? I always thought they were alright but Ive read a few bad things about them recently. Also I seen a Kodak easyshare Z74O that I could afford but am dubious of Kodak.
Anyway,

the above is a digital slr

Rose said:
Generally is Fuji considered reliable?