Crackdown on live bootlegs - what the f**k ? (1 Viewer)

Preacher

Website
Visit site
Haven't bought any live bootlegs for a while but decided to treat myself recently and buy the bootleg CD of Bruce Springsteen's excellent RDS gig in May. Strolled into a well known second hand CD place on the quays who I knew to have a great selection of live bootlegs. To my astonishment I was told by the owner that they can't sell them anymore as there's been new legislation passed or some such bollocks. A quick scout around some of the other bootleg sellers in the area revealed a similar absence of illicit live stuff.

What the f**k ? I've been buying live bootleg material for over twenty years now - they've always been illegal but the cops never bothered enforcing it. What's happened ?

Preacher said:
Haven't bought any live bootlegs for a while but decided to treat myself recently and buy the bootleg CD of Bruce Springsteen's excellent RDS gig in May. Strolled into a well known second hand CD place on the quays who I knew to have a great selection of live bootlegs. To my astonishment I was told by the owner that they can't sell them anymore as there's been new legislation passed or some such bollocks. A quick scout around some of the other bootleg sellers in the area revealed a similar absence of illicit live stuff.

What the f**k ? I've been buying live bootleg material for over twenty years now - they've always been illegal but the cops never bothered enforcing it. What's happened ?

Some of those cd`s were being sold for 25+euros!!!
Last time i was there, i toyed with the idea of picking up a Manics bootleg cd, but with it being priced at something like 28euros! i declined.
I ended up buying video in the end - have the footage was crappy though....

But 28 friggin Euro a pop!
Now thats what i call lawless behaviour!

bootleggers that do the dublin scene are shite. and they'll sell you any piece of crap.