Bass Amplification (1 Viewer)

Lord Damian

so the Fender BXR combo i've been using for the last 13-14 years just crapped out on me and i have a few gigs coming up...was going to start looking for a new bass head/cab anyhow, but i've been out of the loop for a long time now that i don't have an idea of what's out there and don't want to rush into buying anything. might have to rent something for the gigs and buy later.

anyone care to recommend quality classic or new amp "solutions"? i can't access a lot of 'shopping' related sites at work, so any help will really be appreciated.

I like Ashdowns.You can get a good head head and cab off them for about 700euro and then pretty much pay what you want for the higher end models.

I have a Mag 250 and Ashdown 1 x 15 and its grand.I'd like an extra cab though maybe a 4x10.

I'd love a tube ashdown but unfortunatly that will have to wait till next summer.

i should mention that i'd really prefer a classic amp, but have no idea what's out there.

I have seen old Marshall super Bass tube amps go pretty cheap i.e around 400 euro or so on forums and ebay.

They are only 100 watts though so you pretty much have to D.I. it.I played through one at a gig last year.Nice sound but like I said,they are quiet.

I have seen old Marshall super Bass tube amps go pretty cheap i.e around 400 euro or so on forums and ebay.

They are only 100 watts though so you pretty much have to D.I. it.I played through one at a gig last year.Nice sound but like I said,they are quiet.
is that a combo or a head/cab situation? when i said i wanna classic "amp" i think i was a bit misleading...i really wanna head/cab dealio.

ever play an Ampeg Brian? what about a early 80's-era Peavey? i just remembered playing an old Peavey set-up and it was really nice...might have to check them out.

cheers though for the info.

is that a combo or a head/cab situation? when i said i wanna classic "amp" i think i was a bit misleading...i really wanna head/cab dealio.