What Book Did You Read Last Night??? (6 Viewers)

81cHkXqlUrL._SL1500_.jpg

I've read Freedom but can't remember anything about it. I can tell you though that the above book, which I have just finished, was quite boring.

I'm reading the Portrait of the Artist as a Young Man due to the vague feeling that I "should" read Joyce some time. So far it's funny and enjoyable (and strangely... I'm not good at describing literature, but alive, I think I'm trying to say) and not the chore that I had somehow been lead to believe Joyce might be.

I'm reading the Portrait of the Artist as a Young Man due to the vague feeling that I "should" read Joyce some time. So far it's funny and enjoyable (and strangely... I'm not good at describing literature, but alive, I think I'm trying to say) and not the chore that I had somehow been lead to believe Joyce might be.

Yeah, its a great ol read.

The only bit I don't like in Portrait is the young childhood section, it doesn't ring true to me. It's great once he becomes a mopey teenager.

mind you

Ugh, I've started Ulysses for a book club thingy.

A year later and this is still ongoing, the book club fell apart for ages and is only getting back together now. I had to go reread a whole pile to remember what was going on. Ulysses is hard : (

Last edited:
The only bit I don't like in Portrait is the young childhood section, it doesn't ring true to me. It's great once he becomes a mopey teenager.

mind you

A year later and this is still ongoing, the book club fell apart for ages and is only getting back together now. I had to go reread a whole pile to remember what was going on. Ulysses is hard : (

There's a version with added punctuation

Ulysses Remastered

de4bbb94.jpeg

finished this. Worth a read if you like New Order/Joy Division, or even any of what was going on circa the 'madchester' era. He has some interesting stories, mostly around Curtis and that era. Some of the Hacienda stuff was interesting too.