What do these turf cutters really want? (2 Viewers)

Deadmanposting

Supporter
The right to strip the entire country of a natural habitat?
It used to be okay to do this, now it's not.

Is that so hard to understand?
We can't continue to rape the environment in the name of tradition.

Anyway, I don't expect any replies on this, but I am stuck on hold here, so I thought I'd share.

To thank you for your time, here is a picture from Ming Flanagan of a digger on fire

294229_1.jpg

The bog where I worked as a kid is now nothing but bare stones. Completely stripped. But at least it saved people from buying gas or oil for a few years

I have some sympathy for ordinary people, cutting turf for their own use. But there are also contractors who run commercial businesses and they'll strip whats left of the bogs in a few years. The equipment that was seized yesterday wasn't for home turf cutting.

Compensate ordinary people but not the contractors.

The Eu can compensate whoever. If a man's livelihood is taken away, sure give him a few quid. Whatever.

No one's arguing about compensation anyway. They reject every offer. They just want to keep cutting.

No one should be allowed cut any more turf on the protected bogs. No matter who they are.

Have 10 hoppers footed and airing from a local farmer. It's the mass production of brickettes from bord na mona that are destroying the countryside.

Have 10 hoppers footed and airing from a local farmer. It's the mass production of brickettes from bord na mona that are destroying the countryside.

BNM do not cut on areas of special protection. Gardai and NPWS backed down and let them have the machinery back.

Bord na Mona are doing for the rest of us what these lads are doing for themselves - would that be fair? I don't see that much of a difference. If they had a listed building they wouldn't be allowed rip it apart and burn the windows on the basis that they were doing it for themselves.