Recommend me some good heavy bass strings (1 Viewer)

buy a decent set for a 5 string bass,use the heaviest five,adjust the nut if you need to.had to tune to around f at one stage,worked just about ok for that.

Ha! My thoughts exactly. I just hope he's not thinking of putting them on his guitar because that would be big trouble in little Mackle town.

He was on about using a bass through a guitar amp a while back so I reckon he has a bass.

I wonder is it a squire jazz? :rolleyes:

Drop A....
You will have to get a set up done on your bass too if you don't want to be playing the guitar equivalent of a washing line.
Also for any clarity at all you will need a good a bass amp and guitar otherwise its gonna be too dirgy to make out anything at all...not in a good way either.
Anyway good luck Mackle, looking forward to seeing you play.

Yeh I've been playing bass for a few years now. But I recently started playing bass in my band so I'm starting to take it a bit more seriously.

Was thinking I'd need a good amp as well because the amp I have at the minute sounds like shit even at drop C. Been looking for a good bass amp lately but I cant see anything in my price range that suits.

Aonghus if you had to file the nut out for the lowest string, when you wanted to playa four string set was the nut not too wide for the string?

Yeh I've been playing bass for a few years now. But I recently started playing bass in my band so I'm starting to take it a bit more seriously.

Was thinking I'd need a good amp as well because the amp I have at the minute sounds like shit even at drop C. Been looking for a good bass amp lately but I cant see anything in my price range that suits.

Aonghus if you had to file the nut out for the lowest string, when you wanted to playa four string set was the nut not too wide for the string?

If you want to bring the guitar down with you next time yer south, I'll fix it up for ya.