primary degree? (1 Viewer)

frambosenshmak

Website
Visit site
calling all third level students,

i was perusing the application proceedures for a third level course, as you do of a sunny tuesday afternoon, and i happened upon a requirement to have a primary degree.

I have a Hons BA degree. Is that a primary degree? I cant find any info on the hetac site.

Also what constitutes an Arts degree? Does it depend on the college you attended having an arts department and you having done a degree within that department or would a degree in any creative course (fine art, graphics, animation, film) also classify as arts degree?

yea. i'm pretty sure that is your primary degree. (i.e. if it's 3 to 4 years)

and BA means Bachelor of Arts

ah the clue was in the title! Well done watson old bean.

so if BA is a primary degree, what is a masters degree?
a mega primary? a mastersoftheuniversedegree?

my eyes glaze over when i delve into the murky world of undergraduate, postgradute, postundermasterprimarybachelorgraduatesoftheunivers

dennis-franz-slapping-head-pic-sm-865072036.jpg

so if BA is a primary degree, what is a masters degree?
a mega primary? a mastersoftheuniversedegree?

yep. a Masters degree is just an extension of a regular degree. The idea of a Masters is to give a more in-depth but broader knowledge of a particular subject area (than what can be covered in a regular degree).

The PhD is the step up from this. With a masters you are expected to know a lot about a subject (broad) with a PhD you are expected to contribute something new to knowledge (depth).

A PhD is really just a training programme for professional researchers. It is to show that you are competent in devising, managing and completing a large research project.

Post-doc research is when it gets pretty serious.

A PhD is really just a training programme for professional researchers. It is to show that you are competent in devising, managing and completing a large research project.