Pay to Play - your opinions please (4 Viewers)

Psychotic no 2

I'm doing something on the topic of pay to play and would really appreaciate your opinions and knowledge on this.

Does anyone know when this phenomenon became omnipresent, or even just acceptable?

Is there a viable alternative for venues (or are they just being greedy?)?

Your feelings on it...and anything you care to add.

Speedy?

e*

I'm fairly new to this kind of thing, the oul' timers here would be a fountain of knowledge on this subject. Especially The Dudley Coorporation as they've done more gigs than Jesus. Anyways, I think it a real kick in the face for really young bands who can't afford noodles. I mean like, Dublin, some real kips here, and you gotta pay for de gigs some places 400 yoy yos. The cheapest I've heard of is 200 yo yos, and thats the Voodoo lounge, which is crap and huge, with shit selection of de booze. And a bad reputation, and a bit of a walk up de oul' quays. Anyone know of a reasonably priced venue. That sounds good, looks ok, central?

There are no good cheap and central venues in Dublin, if you want quality (E.G. Whelans) you pay for it!

However sometimes it's just a lack of initiative, I mean, the average venue's owner doesn't give a shit of what sort of music you play or of how good/popular you are, especially if you get a mid week night. They only care of the number of people you'll take there.

I saw *awful* bands playing at Whelans for instance. If you put together a gig with three bands and charge 5 euros at the door you can easily recover the 2/300 fee.

if you're doing an article, it might be worth trying to track down some of the those who've played the aidan walsh gigs (try the phantom fm board) which seem a huge rip off, especially since most bands who play them are in their teens and, presumably, short on cash. Then again, maybe they're actually fun or profitable for the bands...

http://www.aidanwalsh.com/gigs/?display=23