Jeffrey Lewis & The Rain, The #1's, No Monster Club This Thursday (1 Viewer)


Well-Known Member
Apr 2, 2002

Jeffrey Lewis & The Rain
The #1's
No Monster Club
Thursday July 18
Grand Social
Doors 7.30
Tickets €12 from & Sound Cellar

The incredible Jeffrey Lewis returns to Dublin on Thursday June 18. his newest band incarnation Jeffrey Lewis & The Rain features Isabel Martin (of Yellow Fever) on bass and Heather Wagner on drums.

Jeffrey Lewis
New York's Jeffrey Lewis is both a comic book artist and a musician. With his band (currently the Rain) material ranges from acoustic narratives to head-smashing garage rock.
Often regarded as part of the antifolk movement, first and foremost because he was one of the many bands and performers (including The Moldy Peaches, Major Matt Mason USA and Lach) who played in the 1990s at New York's Sidewalk Cafe and its biannual antifolk festivals and open mic events. Growing up on the Lower East Side of Manhattan Island, Jeff's songs are highly informed by his home surroundings. His music also possesses certain traits of a perceived antifolk style - a downbeat self-deprecating humor, an off-kilter singing style, a mixture of acoustic and punk songs which feature themes of everyday occurrences and feelings.

After being signed by the British record label Rough Trade in 2001, Jeffrey Lewis released his first official album "The Last Time I Did Acid I Went Insane". In 2003, he released the album "It's The Ones Who've Cracked That The Light Shines Through". His third record, "City and Eastern Songs", was released in the UK in 2005 and in the US in 2006. All three of these albums also include his brother, Jack Lewis, who wrote and sang a number of the songs. In October 2007, Jeffrey released "12 Crass Songs", an album consisting entirely of songs written by the anarcho-pacifist British punk band Crass, reworked to match Jeffrey's antifolk style. In 2009, he released "Jeffrey Lewis & The Junkyard - "Em Are I".

Other well-known acts that Jeff has performed shows or whole tours with include Devandra Banhart, Black Dice, Thurston Moore, The Fall, Kimya Dawson, Beth Orton, Frank Black, Fiery Furnaces, Daniel Johnston, Scout Niblett, The Mountain Goats, Dr. Dog, Moldy Peaches, Cornershop, Trachtenburg Family Slideshow Players, Wooden Wand, The Cribs, Herman Dune, Super Furry Animals and Stephen Malkmus.

Jeffrey Lewis released his new, sixth album for Rough Trade Records entitled "A Turn In The Dream-Songs" in 2011. All songs were recorded onto two-inch analogue tape at the Analogue Catalogue all-vintage studio in Manchester, UK. A host of Jeffrey's friends feature on the album including members of Dr. Dog, The Vaselines, Au Revoir Simone, The Wave Pictures, Johnny Flynn & the Sussex Wit, Misty's Big Adventure and Schwervon.

Create an account or login to comment

You must be a member in order to leave a comment

Create account

Create a account. It's easy!

Log in

Already have an account? Log in here.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)


Support and upgrade your account

Upgrade your account now to disable all ads... If we had any... Which we don't right now.

Upgrade now

Latest posts

Trending Threads

Latest threads