How present are female musicians in the line-up at the Camden Crawl 2013? (1 Viewer)

GirlsRockCampIE

http://www.youreonlymassive.com/gender-crawl/

How-present-are-female-music-1.png

Also, you were very worried about the transsexuals and hermaphrodites at the top of the infographic there, well done, though your interest waned a bit by the end - do you have a *bare minimum* percentage of each of these you'd like to propose.

I'm pretty sure we explained why there aren't enough bands with women members in this thread already.

http://www.thumped.com/bbs/threads/female-rock-punk-bands-in-ireland.88367/

Far more teenage boys form bands so 10 years later there are far more men on the average bill.

I worked in a guitar shop where our footfall was 80% under the age of 20 and out of that 90% were teenage boys.

I find this kind of thread pretty insulting to be honest. I've been putting in the effort for 17 years and rarely gotten a break such as playing at a festival.

Are you proposing that an all male band be excluded from a festival line up based on gender rather than ability ?

The population of ireland does not represent the population of people playing music or forming bands. bringing per capita gender issues into it seems weird to me. Any all female bands i know are playing festivals because they are good and work hard and people like them, not because of some demeaning gender quota. Maybe if you look at the actual population of female acts rather than the population of the country, it might be a worthwhile comparison. Some of the poeple in my band are female, they are there because they are talented, not because i kicked out a few men to even things out.