Buying a drum kit! Advice please!! (1 Viewer)

Bastard Eoin

Website
Visit site
OK, so I've been drumming on and off for about two years now and I think it's about time I make the ultimate commitment and buy my own kit.

However, as guitarist (I know, I know!) this is completely unchartered waters for me so I'm looking for some advice in regards to what type of kit and brand etc. I should go for.

I want to get something reasonably decent that isn't going to crumble under my immense drumming power :)rolleyes:) but also something affordable, the 500yo mark say.

I only use one rack tom and a floor tom as well the kick and snare (obviously!). Is it possible to buy just what I need or do I have to fork out for the works?

In saying that, if anyone has any spare shells that they want to get rid of I'd gladly take them off your hands.

Cheers folks!

theres always a bunch of decent pearl export kits going on adverts.ie..

there was one there (might still be there now) last month that the guy had refinished himself. and he was selling for around the 300 mark.

you can pick up decent shells pretty cheap. but it might be worth spending the extra few quid on new skins..

also, cymbals....cymbals are the killler really. but i supposed cheapo sabian cymbals would do you just fine. in which case, adverts.ie is still your man.

Don't buy new. Thats the main thing. Nothing depreciates like a new drum kit, especially a pricey one.

A second hand pearl export wouldn't be the worst option; big toms and easy to tune. Other than that, in your price range, I'd probably go with a yamaha or a sonor - stage custom kits by yamaha should be around 500 second hand but they're fusion size - 10, 12" toms and a 14" floor - tighter, jazzier feel. Force 3000 by sonor should be around that price on the second hand as well, but i don't know nothin about 'em other than that the shells are birch which is a decent enough wood.