Mongrel and Foggy Notions RIP (1 Viewer)

I think Mongrel got better and better. It started out bad, but in the last year or two it's had some hilarious shit in it and the design seemed to settle down and have some identity / style.

seriously doubt that anyone "failed" here - far more likely they just got bored/lost enthusiasm/became disillusioned with the message or aesthetic they were trying to convey/began to hate themselves/etc

seriously doubt that anyone "failed" here - far more likely they just got bored/lost enthusiasm/became disillusioned with the message or aesthetic they were trying to convey/began to hate themselves/etc

I'd say that's more likely with Mongrel than Foggy Notions.

I'm not an expert on the matter though.

bringing out mags is good fun, however the grind of trying to get advertising to pay for the journos/designers/printing, etc is a TOTAL pain in the hole and would wear anyone down in the end.

maybe fail was a strong word. closure/lack of interest etc is what I really meant.

Sad to see both of them go, but Foggy Notions' erratic release schedule never did it any favours. It wasn't much fun to read, either.

Sad to see both of them go, but Foggy Notions' erratic release schedule never did it any favours. It wasn't much fun to read, either.

I loved it. I thought they had some quality journalists and I really loved their reviews section.

I'll particularly miss the free CDs that came with them. They were always top notch.

i liked mongrel. it wasnt as witty as the slate but still for a free mag it was enjoyable... no metro tho.. not enough cute animals.

i only read a couple of issues of mongrel when it first came out and then stopped as I didn't think much of it and was missing the Slate too much anyway.