Sun Ra Recommendations? (2 Viewers)

Mitchum

it's a goddamn jungle out there!

I have Space Is The Place & I've got a taste for more but I dunno where to start.
Had a look at a WIRE primer a while back & when I could see past the pointless name-dropping, cunfusing use of prefixes & suffixes and reading about long out of print vinyl, I was none the wiser.

Can anyone offer any advice?

I guess ALL the Impulse! re-issues are a safe bet, eh?

My to favourites are Nuclear War and Atlantis. Though I am not an expert in Ra at all.

I can recommend The Heliocentric Worlds Vol 1 & 2 as a primer.
Everything's good, really, just depends on your appetite for skronk...

ask shaney - he's got a sun ra t-shirt!

i have two - a purple one and a brown one. im no sun ra expert either but just to add to the list of what to go for next i'd recommend We Travel The Spaceways for nice mellow straight ahead stuff, Cosmic Tones for Mental Therapy/Art Forms of Dimensions Tomorrow (2 albums on 1 cd) or Strange Strings for more out there stuff and Media Dream if you're after some synthy disco stuff.

My friend texted me the other day to say that he now has 56 sun ra albums - I'll text him for his advice this minute...

Edit: - The reply.

The comp Out There A Minute, also The Solar Myth Approach Vols 1 & 2, and maybe a live one from the 70s. Depends on the taste of the person though. Who is this wide-eyed tousle-haired youngster? CENSORED CENSORED CENSORED...

Nothing Is/Dancing Shadows is my favourite.
Solar Myth Approach (vols 1 & 2), Strange Celestial Road, Pictures of Infinity, Sound of Joy,Nuits de la Foundation Maeght (sp?),Fate in a Pleasant Mood are all good as well.

Full discography here:-
http://www.the-temple.net/sunradisco/
I hadn't quite realised how much he'd released..!

The wikipedia entry recommends the following:-