• This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more.

Eircom router password

Thread starter #1

johnnystress

Well-Known Member
Supporter
Joined
Nov 1, 2002
Messages
28,083
I have a Netopia router that came as part of my eircom broadband package

When I installed it I was asked to enter a PIN or password

I want to allow my girlfriend to access broadband from her laptop but she will need to know this PIN/password in order to do so

I think (?)

How do I find this PIN?

I mailed eircom and they've sent me the 1890 number- but before I settle down with a flask for a few frustrating hours by the telephone I thought I'd ask here first

Anyone know how I can get this number/password?
 
Joined
Jul 29, 2004
Messages
8,062
Location
the 'hide
are you talking about the wireless key thing?
the WEP password??

the only way to get that is to plug straight into your router with an ethernet cable and type this into your browser:

192.168.1.254

and itll bring up the modem control panel.
go to wireless and itll show you a password there..
 
Thread starter #3

johnnystress

Well-Known Member
Supporter
Joined
Nov 1, 2002
Messages
28,083
are you talking about the wireless key thing?
the WEP password??
ummm...i think so

the only way to get that is to plug straight into your router with an ethernet cable and type this into your browser:

192.168.1.254

and itll bring up the modem control panel.
go to wireless and itll show you a password there..

Thanks gstereotypical! I'll give this a go
 

RED(tape)MENACE

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 5, 2000
Messages
6,529
Website
www.myspace.com
The router will most likely have a default password like 0000
If you can't get it the G-stereo way, give Eircom tech support a shout and they should be able to give it to you.
 

potlatch

New Member
Joined
Apr 28, 2002
Messages
1,396
Website
www.monkeybomb.com
On a computer connected to the broadband, don't you go to 192.168.1.254 and when asked for a password, login is eircom and password is broadband1.

Then you can get the WEP and SSID.
 

Pedronimus

New Member
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
1,406
Location
Between 23 and 25 hours from Tulsa
On my netopia router the default user name is 'admin' and the default password is also 'admin'.
You may have changed this to something else in the meantime, so you can hold in the reset button with a pin (for about 30 secs) and it will restore the router to original settings and you can use admin/admin.

The router is about 2 years old so Eircom may have changed the defaults to what Potlatch says in the meantime.
 

Support thumped.com

Support thumped.com and upgrade your account

Upgrade your account now to disable all ads... if we have any.

Upgrade now

Buy me a coffeeBuy me a coffee

Who's Online

Staff online

  • pete
    chronic procrastinator

Members

Latest posts

Latest threads

Latest profile posts

Spotify integration is sorted - go here - https://thumped.com/bbs/account/connected-accounts/ - to activate
I think I just bought Pete a coffee.
Everybody happy? Grand.
Well at least this is working properly now.