DEAF 2008

DEAF 2008

DEAF 2008
The lineup for DEAF 2008 has just been announced. The festival – now in its 7th year – takes in 52 events around Dublin over the October bank holiday weekend.

The lineup for DEAF 2008 has just been announced. The festival – now in its 7th year – takes in 52 events around Dublin over the October bank holiday weekend.

The seventh Dublin Electronic Arts Festival in association with Becks Vier, takes place over the October bank holiday weekend 2008, with our most diverse and comprehensive programme to date, this years DEAF stages a total of 52 events across Dublin city from the Digital Hub to the National Gallery of Ireland.

After the success of 2007s all-Asian themed programme, we have broadened our scope further and, in partnership with some of Irelands leading arts organisations and event promoters, weve put together a line-up that is unique to the Irish festival calendar. Musical highlights include appearances from the revered veterans of electronic experimentalism Nurse with wound, White Noise live at the Sugar Club, Trans Am and ZZZ at the Village, M83 at Vicar Street, and the BBC Radiophonic Workshop at the Digital Hub. Late night club appearances come in the form of Luke Vibert, Rob Hall, UR DJ Skurge, Regis, DJ Sandrinho, Broadcast, Shawn Rudiman and DK7 plus DEAF TALKS with Andreas Schneider, Niamh Ahern, Dave Vorhaus, Mark Jenkins, Peter Kirns and Steinski. The annual flagship event is the DEAF closing party and this year features a host of highly-regarded international names such as Model 500 featuring Juan Atkins and Mike Banks, Laurent Garnier and the Moritz Von Oswald Trio playing alongside the best of local talent including Americhord, Chequerboard and Rollers/Sparkers.

With all the gloomy talk of recession these days, its inspiring to see so many new names in a programme that prides itself in providing exposure for a new generation of Irish-based artists working in the electronic arts. Alongside newcomers to the festival, such as Stasis and Synth Eastwood, we welcome participation from the Improvised Music Company and Note Productions and look forward to further developing our partnerships with Culture Ireland, the Temple Bar Cultural Trust and the Model Arts & Niland Gallery.

There is focus on the participatory this year, with talks, screenings and an adult music workshop facilitated by local collective !Kaboogie. DEAF Junior, our childrens workshop programme, will visit some of Dublins disadvantaged areas offering kids of all ages an opportunity to experiment with new music technology.

DEAF 2008 features a number of exhibitions in galleries across the city, and it is encouraging to see that many of these spaces (The Joy Gallery, Thisisnotashop, The Joinery, Pallas Contemporary Projects) are relatively new, independent and artist-run. 2008 also sees the start of another DEAF initiative: the DEAF Awards for new composition in the fields of ambient & electroacoustic music, which is a joint collaboration with South Tipperary Arts Centre, Limerick University and RTELyric Fm. As part of DEAFs ongoing publishing series, platforming the very best in new experimental music being made in this country, this years double CD release features 35 tracks from Irish-based artists such as Nurse with Wound, Fovea Hex, Major Grave, Roger Doyle and Sunken Foal.

DEAF 2008 could not take place without the generous help of the Arts Council/An Chomhairle Eala� Dublin City Council, the Goethe Institut, Culture Ireland, and the Finnish Embassy. We would also like to take this opportunity to gratefully acknowledge the support of our primary sponsor Becks Vier, and to thank all of our participants and our audience for the continued encouragement, enjoyment and goodwill that enables DEAF to take place every year.

Tickets already available and selling well for many of the shows on

Festival acts announced so far (deep breath):

Nurse With Wound
Model 500 feat. Juan Atkins and Mike Banks + band
Laurent Garnier
Moritz Von Oswald Trio feat. Vladislav Delay & Max Loderbauer
Trans AM
Fuck Buttons
Luke Vibert
White Noise
DJ Scurge
B Music Special feat Andy Votel + Dom Thomas
Mad EP
Rob Hall
Sean Rudiman
Broadcast DJ set
DJ Chef
DJ S2 aka Ican
Itaru Oki
In The Country & Susanna – Rune Grammofon
Peter Kirn – Create Digital Music
Jonas Mekas
Poets of Rhythm
Phil Asher
Point B
DJ Sandrinho
Stephen OMalley SUNN O)))
Thomas P. Heckmann
Andreas Schneider
BBC Radiophonic Workshop with Dave Vorhaus & Mark Jenkins
Polly Fibre
!Kaboogie DJs
Albert Alcoz
Alo Allik
Alphabet Set
Andy Noonan
Annette Krebs
Annie Hall
Anthony Kelly
Armand Rovira
Bang Hazard
Barry Donovan
Ben Gaulon
Big Dish Go
Bottlenote Collective
Channel One
Choice Cuts
Cristina Giribets
D1 Recordings DJs
Dan Mac
Dave Nuremberg
David Domingo
David Lacey
David Stalling
DJ Radikal Guru
DJ Scope
Donal Dineen
Ed Devant
Electric Feel
Electronic Sensoria Band
Foggy Notions
Fugitive Projects
Future Audio Workshop
Get Low crew
Gran Casino
Groovement Soul
Hugo Cornelles
Improvised Music Company
Invisible Agent
Jay Galligan
Jay Roche
John Carter
John Daly
John Gilsenan – iwantdesign
Johnny Moy
Johnny Oakley
Jon Hussey
King Ten Suited
Legion of Two
Lex Woo
Lluis Escartin
Loktibrada aka Dj Dalo
Mail Order Messiahs
Major Grave
Manuel Asin
Margaret O’Brien
Maximum Joy
Niamh Ahern
Night Flight
Oriol Sanchez
Patrick Danse
Paul Grant
Paul Vogel
Reivaj Yudato
Rob Murphy
Rootical Soundsystem
Rumenige aka Dj Toky
Sean Lynch
Simon Hayes
Slavek Kwi
Soul AD
Spatial Music Collective
Stephen Concannon
Sunil Sharpe
The Black Egg
The Dirty Collective
The Projector Collective

user_login; ?>