The Trad Thread (1 Viewer)

no but i think i should start listening to some trad by groups that are actually still active...any recommendations?

Most of the big trad groups - Lunasa, Altan, Danu etc - are grand for blasting it out live, but i wouldn't be mad into them on record.

Flook from Engerland are decent, but again, i wouldn't be gone on their albums.

I'm no expert though; I thought it'd be good to get a thread going, and see if we can collectively dig out the good stuff.

Trad music ain't what it used to be. Like some of the others said, to listen to live it can be great, but on CD, not so good. Case in point, that Cooney-Begley CD about 10 years ago. Their live show was amazing, but the CD just wasn't good.

The old dinosaurs aren't all gone yet so I'll stay listening to them for another while.

Can someone please as Paul Brady to go back to doing trad? He was amazing at it.

Anyone get hold of this new Martin Hayes/Dennis Cahill album?

Apparently it's great.

I heard "the lonesome touch", that's lovely album, have to check the new one out.

Got "The Liffey Banks" by Tommy Potts a while back and i definitely recommend that if you haven't heard it, beautiful stuff and i love the recording. Well worth picking up.

what about dervish, are they keeping a low profile:)

I refuse to listen to Martin Hayes until I see him live. What people have said, he's made a pact with the devil. No point hearing that shit on CD.

was given a lend of some martin hayes stuff few weeks back,pretty good.
get to do a sean nos workshop at the moment as part of my masters,it's interesting enough,anybody got any recommendations for that type of thing?