Interesting Times Article on Art Centres (1 Viewer)

lympog

Website
www.myspace.com
http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/features/2009/1015/1224256675387.html

We have all the state-of-the-art theatres and arts centres we need, writes GUY BARRISCALE . The problem is that there is not enough funding to create the art to fill them
WHEN THE NEW visual arts centre in Carlow opened recently, I was as “gobsmacked” as Martin Cullen when he opened it. But maybe my state of “gobsmackedness” is a little different to the Minster.
I am one of the thousands of unseen workers who try to pay their bills by labouring in the arts. I am not an artist or an actor, a musician or director, or indeed a financially prudent though woefully underpaid arts manager. I am not an eloquent, erudite member of Aosdána and I don’t get any tax breaks, though 20-odd per cent tax on an income of nothing, even with additional levies, is still nothing.

I am none of these, but you may have heard me saying 1. . . 2 . . . into a microphone, or seen me hanging around the back doors of a theatre at two o’clock in the morning. Maybe you’ve woken up early and seen me standing in the pouring rain with boxes of film equipment, muttering quietly and hoping that the electrics will dry out sometime before someone says “action”. Maybe you’ve taken a picture to my shop to be framed or commented on how beautiful my costumes were in the latest period drama on the television.