Home Recording Tips/tricks and conundrums etc. (1 Viewer)

• Thread starter GO
  • Start date
  • Replies 84
  • Views 11K
  • Watchers 2
Deadly!I see you've an electric drum set there..I'm really into getting one of them..do you find it great or what?

it would be better if i was an even passable drummer. i'm debating actually selling it soon in the future to make space. i got it to control ez drummer, which was probably the peak usage i've been getting out of it, and my sister loves playing on it.

If...you were able to knock out a decent beat....would it be a usable device when latencies etc are taken into account?

http://nickcrowlab.blogspot.com/

Edit..oh yeah,try putting a hpf at 40 hz on yer master buss ..I tried it on the last couple tunes..nice..I may even start eliminating more..domestic hifi equipment dosent go down there,hell my monitors dont go anywhere near it..why should I?

If something is becoming a drag, you can't get it the way you want it or you can't play or sing a take as you think it should be then just say to yourself "fuck it, it'll do" and move on

Thats solid advice.Theres always another way too.As long as it sounds right it is right!

I've moved totally and completely to working at 44.1k ..like a fool I've been using 48k with the mad idea it was better-clearer highs etc.

Did a tune last night and can 100% confirm...no fucking difference at all.

In fact..I actually think,no am convinced,that NOT having to resample to 44.1 from 48k in the render has improved the final sound big time.Way less harshness and weird fucking artifacts from beyond the beyond.

It all just boils down to correct mic technique.Thats the WHOLE story.Dont bother yer bollix with acoustic treatment or fuck all.Room dosent even have to be that quiet(I don't use an omni mic).Just point the mic away from the computer.Jobs oxo.My productions are going through the roof quality wise.Using the exact same gear I've used since I started.Just using it right.