Home Brewing (1 Viewer)

lemonbravo

Website
www.analogheart.net
What with current economic forecasts, anyone got any good experiences/tips on home brewing?
Maybe link a brand with an album for listening while drinking....

I have zero experience, interested lately though.

Last time I had some was in 1990 I think, grim enough times then also. As was the home-brew.

There's a couple of threads here with recipes. It's easy enough to get started

i would post a link to them but i keep getting this error

looks like *someone* forgot to restart the search stuff

do a google search for "site:thumped.com home brew" or something and i'll get it going again later

Lots of homebrewers hang out at http://www.beoir.org/ . I only use it for reference but you'll find pretty much everything you need to know there.

My advice is to start with a starter kit with a prepacked brew kit. Then move onto extract + real hop brewing and then eventually whole grain brewing if you can be bothered!
You need to be spotlessly clean with your equipment, rinse everything well and be patient!

When I did my first batch (bottled my third batch a week ago) I got everything from the shop in Rathmines, in total equipment and ingredients was just shy of €80. Like most retail businesses, some of the lads working there know their stuff, others haven't a breeze.

I used a kit and a can of Liquid malt extract, it costs a bit but it gives better quality beer than if you use a kit and ordinary sugar. I can recommend the Muntons Connoisseur's Wheat Beer 1.8 Kg along with a can of Coopers Malt Extract Wheat 1.5kg, most people say the yeast that comes with kits is poor but I found the Munton's yeast to be pretty good. You can have a drinkable wheat beer ready in a month, 2 weeks in the bucket fermenting and two weeks in the bottle carbonating.

Beoir.org has the following guide for brewing with a kit, easy to follow. There's other guides for bottling etc.