graphics card (1 Viewer)

mr pharmacist!!!!1

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 11, 2006
Messages
7,398
Location
bay 12
yo

i know fuck all bout them but i think i need to upgrade my graphics card for my laptop.
this is the spec of the laptop

CPU: 2.0-GHz Intel Pentium T4200
Operating System: Windows Vista Home Premium 64-bit
RAM/Expandable to: 4GB/4GB
Hard Drive Size/Speed: 320GB/5,400 rpm
Optical Drive: 8X DVD +/- RW DL
Display Size/Resolution: 17.3 inches/1600 x 900

when i try and play raw hd video files from a camera they dont run very smoothly and are quite jittery. is a better graphics card the answer?
if anyone can point in the right direction that'd be cool.

tanks
 

mr pharmacist!!!!1

Well-Known Member
Thread starter
Joined
Apr 11, 2006
Messages
7,398
Location
bay 12
would it be that you're trying to play it from the camera and not the hd?

nah, playing them from the laptop hd.

laptops have embedded graphics cards, so you won't be able to upgrade it.

fair enough. they audio plays grand but the video seems to just skip a couple of frames every few seconds.
 

magicbastarder

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 14, 2006
Messages
7,175
Website
stroma.org
have you checked to see if the HD is defragged?
worth downloading mydefrag, it's much more powerful than the inbuilt one.
just don't run the monthly defrag option, it's beyond overkill.
 

mr pharmacist!!!!1

Well-Known Member
Thread starter
Joined
Apr 11, 2006
Messages
7,398
Location
bay 12
are the video files full hd? my pc can't deal with full hd avchd at all, they need some serious hardware for processing

the hd video files are massive (3 mins of video = 1GB.)

is this where someone comes in and tells me to get a mac?
 

dudley

Super Moderator
Staff member
Supporter
Contributor
Since 1999
Joined
Nov 8, 1999
Messages
10,088
Location
Dublin Town
Website
www.thedudleycorporation.com
i'd say thats your (and my) problem right there. either start filming at lower quality, or get some beefy hardware.

think harddrive speed is a big obstacle, and laptop drives tend to be slower than desktop ones. might be worth building a dedicated machine
 

hiadudiad?

Well-Known Member
Supporter
Joined
Sep 8, 2003
Messages
19,268
Solutions
2
Location
A white house with a folly
I need to get a new graphics card as the noise of my current one is driving me to despair. What do I need? I've already bought one that doesn't fit. I can't figure out from this guide whether its AGP or something else that I need.

Here is a photo of the one currently in place:
9057262315_e6b99bbc3e_b.jpg


Here is where it goes - in the top black slot:
9057267561_bb7a1b8b30_b.jpg
 

hiadudiad?

Well-Known Member
Supporter
Joined
Sep 8, 2003
Messages
19,268
Solutions
2
Location
A white house with a folly
Thanks, I tried that already but it doesn't say what kind of connection it has. I think it is AGP anyway, the connections look just like the ones in another AGP photo. They seem to be hard enough to find due to being completely outdated.
 

pete

chronic procrastinator
Staff member
Since 1999
Joined
Nov 14, 1999
Messages
55,519
Location
iPanopticon
Website
thumped.com
Yeah they're ancient in PC years. I might have one in my attic but I dunno if it'd be any improvement on what you have.

You might be able to under-clock your exisiting card, reduce its heat output & so lower its reliance on the fan?
 

hiadudiad?

Well-Known Member
Supporter
Joined
Sep 8, 2003
Messages
19,268
Solutions
2
Location
A white house with a folly
I cleaned it out a couple of weeks ago with a little stick, made no difference. I think I'll just get a new one as soon as the noise starts up again. Thanks for the advice though!
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Support thumped.com

Support thumped.com and upgrade your account

Upgrade your account now to disable all ads... If we had any... Which we don't right now.

Upgrade now

Latest posts

Trending Threads

Latest threads

Top