Firewire Audio Interfaces (MAC) (1 Viewer)

tim

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 28, 2004
Threads
85
Messages
2,016
/So I've been looking into getting one of these guys and was wondering how you have found them to be?

The two main things that I want to get out of it is
1) an overall boost in the quality of the sound source that is being recorded to computer. I.E a wider volume range. In the past I've just been recording via a mixer directly into the mac's built in input, doing it track by track.

2) Is it possible to multitrack live to seperate tracks. E.G if the firewire audio interface has 4 seperate inputs can each of those inputs be assigned to 4 seperate tracks in a software program so that live mutlitracking can be done? anybody have experience with this?

I have a Mac Book Pro with 2 gb ram.

Having been looking at these:
Both of these are 300
http://www.thomann.de/ie/edirol_fa66.htm

http://www.thomann.de/ie/presonus_firestudio_mobile.htm

Then this is a more expensive but has more mic Pre amps. But, is only really worth getting if I can multitrack live onto seperate tracks. + I've read the pre amps are quieter than the firestudio mobile + isn't particuarly portable looking
http://www.thomann.de/ie/presonus_firestudio_project.htm

Then this is more expensive again but is supposed to be good. Then again only 2 preamps.
http://www.thomann.de/ie/motu_ultralite_mkiii_hybrid.htm

So does anybody have any experience with these?
What I want to be able to do ultimately is to multitrack record basic tracks of a live band in a room and then bounce these down and add more parts afterwards over the "live" sound.

thanks.
 

worthit

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 16, 2007
Threads
55
Messages
1,402
Yo. You need a multitrack recording program to go with this to be able to record multiple tracks. You can record as many simultaneous separate tracks as you have inputs.

Remember you also need a mic for every channel too.

What program are you recording onto now?

You can basically add as many tracks as your computer will allow. You just add another track, assign an input to that track and record away so you don't need to bounce down anything.
 

SONYMEGADRIVE

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 4, 2002
Threads
911
Messages
21,114
Location
america
Then this is a more expensive but has more mic Pre amps. But, is only really worth getting if I can multitrack live onto seperate tracks. + I've read the pre amps are quieter than the firestudio mobile + isn't particuarly portable looking
http://www.thomann.de/ie/presonus_firestudio_project.htm
based on what you're looking to do - i'd go with that one....i have something similar and it's totally portable, just fuck it in a bag
 

tim

Well-Known Member
Thread starter
Joined
Aug 28, 2004
Threads
85
Messages
2,016
Yo. You need a multitrack recording program to go with this to be able to record multiple tracks. You can record as many simultaneous separate tracks as you have inputs.

Remember you also need a mic for every channel too.

What program are you recording onto now?

You can basically add as many tracks as your computer will allow. You just add another track, assign an input to that track and record away so you don't need to bounce down anything.
I've been using Garageband a lot, might be able to assign various inputs to various tracks simultaneously using it.

I also have Logic and Abelton but I haven't gotten into learning them yet. I just need something to capture and mix sound more than do anything fancy so Garageband will continue suiting me as long as a new audio interface widens the volume range that I can input into the computer.
 

tim

Well-Known Member
Thread starter
Joined
Aug 28, 2004
Threads
85
Messages
2,016
So I'm still looking around before I make the purchase of the Firewire interface.

Looking at both of these:
http://www.thomann.de/ie/presonus_firestudio_project.htm

or

http://www.thomann.de/ie/alesis_multimix_16_firewire.htm

They are the same price.
Obvious big difference is that the presonus just has the 8 pre amps but the alesis has EQ aswell.
Anybody tried out any of the Alesis firewire mixers. Kind of leaning towards the Presonus but am thinking will it be a big mistake not going for the EQ. All I have EQ wise is a shitty behringr mixer and some other analogue stuff, none of which has phantom power.Anybody have any other firewire suggestions. Would be most appreciated.

Will be getting some mics aswell and some monitors.

Any monitor sugestions in the 200 - 300 range.

Thanks,
Tim
 

ann post

Well-Known Member
Supporter
Joined
Oct 13, 2002
Threads
372
Messages
22,297
Location
Internment Explorer sp3
Obvious big difference is that the presonus just has the 8 pre amps but the alesis has EQ aswell.
Anybody tried out any of the Alesis firewire mixers. Kind of leaning towards the Presonus but am thinking will it be a big mistake not going for the EQ. All I have EQ wise is a shitty behringr mixer and some other analogue stuff, none of which has phantom power.Anybody have any other firewire suggestions. Would be most appreciated.
i dont know what other people think, but i would rarely if ever actually use EQ at the input stage of the recording, i'd do the EQ business afterward in garageband or whatever program, using monitors and headphones and stuff. the past year i've regularly used a focusrite pro 40 and an edirol fa101 (which i think is basically the same machine as the one you posted above, just an older model). the focusrite has better pre amps and a little more functionality/expandability - it got more parameters and ways to plug shit in to it, the edirol is great in the sense of 'fuck it in a bag and off you go' - aint used any of the others that you've mentioned, just a 2c post.
 

theoootini

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2005
Threads
244
Messages
5,107
Location
semi-permeable jungle 3-step
Website
www.soundcloud.com
i bought this thinking it would be cool to have the mixer action too. I got a good price for it back at the height of the euro versus the pound, but if i was going again i wouldn't bother i think. takes up too much desk space and as someone mentioned, you tend to do all your eqing inside the computer when in your bedroom.

It's got flexible routing capabilities, and is grand for what it is but unless your playing live the eq won't be used...
 

tim

Well-Known Member
Thread starter
Joined
Aug 28, 2004
Threads
85
Messages
2,016
Im just trying to guess ahead in terms of needing EQ when tracking.
There's a big difference between analogue and digital post EQ. Mostly thinking that I'll want it for recording percussion instruments.
I suppose I could use a 4 track or a behringer mixer to get eq before going into the PRE AMP.
 

tim

Well-Known Member
Thread starter
Joined
Aug 28, 2004
Threads
85
Messages
2,016
already bought something. good luck with the sale.
 

peter

Member
Joined
Jul 7, 2007
Threads
25
Messages
130
Location
Ireland
Website
www.chrmastering.eu
Hey man,
I'm looking to off load one of my motu 896HD's would probably be very close to the price of a new ultralite if your interested
8 Very nice pre's, firewire etc
I will also throw in a 4u rack case

http://www.adverts.ie/253798/pro-audio/motu-896-hd-mkii/

id be interested in taking that beaut off your hands, alas i have fuck all cash at the moment but will check back with you on adverts in a couple of weeks
 

Create an account or login to comment

You must be a member in order to leave a comment

Create account

Create a thumped.com account. It's easy!

Log in

Already have an account? Log in here.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

We're listening to...

  • Sign O' The Times (Super Deluxe)
    Eggplant (Original Prince Vocal) - 2020 Remaster
    Prince
    Sign O' The Times (Super Deluxe)
  • Happy Birthday
    Mars in Virgo
    Sneaks
    Happy Birthday

Support thumped.com

Support thumped.com and upgrade your account

Upgrade your account now to disable all ads... If we had any... Which we don't right now.

Upgrade now

Latest posts

Trending Threads

Latest threads

Top